Liberation!

November 12, 2008

 

Escaping the Dreaded Swing

Escaping the Dreaded Swing

Recently, as I watch the baby work to crawl faster, push himself up to standing, and escape the confines of the dreaded swing I have found myself thinking about the ways that I am trying to break free of constraints.  Sure my gross motor skills are in pretty good shape, but it would be nice to liberate myself from some of those other pesky limitations.

Ultimate host complex: I am having people over for dinner tonight and I was getting all stressed about the fact that I have too much to do, I’m not making the most impressive meal, and I am feeling like I am running out of time.  Then I realized- I have a baby.  I don’t need to be the perfect hostess.  So I am going to make a simple, but good main course and am going to get Doritos for an appetizer and Hostess Cupcakes for dessert.  Ok, ok, maybe hummus and french bread and a baked good from Whole Foods. 

Not-there-yet complex: I need to get over my frustration with the fact that I haven’t accomplished everything that I’d like to have accomplished by now.  Head of my own non-profit? Nope.  Administrator at a great college or university? Nope.  Clear on my career path? Nope.  Letting it go to enjoy life a bit more? Priceless.

So from here on out as I help the baby to break free of his constraints I’ll remind myself to do the same and get over myself.  It’s all about freedom, baby.

Leave a Reply

