Preschool Fair

November 25, 2008

preschool

I recently heard about a woman who put her four-month-old baby into a Montessori daycare.  This daycare sends home weekly reports on the baby’s development and learning.  Gotta make sure junior’s acing pacifier weaning or you can forget Harvard…

Overwhelmed by all the pressing questions about what I was going to do about childcare, I decided that the responsible thing to do would be to go to the Preschool Fair put on by the Silver Spring Moms Club.  My favorite part of the description of the event was the note at the bottom: “The event will be held in a large gymnasium with activities for children provided in the center… However, your child will not be evaluated in any way, so no need to bring him or her along if they have prior social engagements…and no need to stress if Junior has a massive meltdown in front of a preschool director.” Whew! That’s a relief.

As I got out of the car I realized that I was on mommy crack.  I mean the baby is only seven months old and we are talking about schools that don’t start until he is two or two-and-a-half.

There were a whole range of schools there, elite private, hippie co-ops, Montessori, Waldorf, religious, you name it.  Each representative told me how great it was that I was being proactive, “you can’t start the search for the perfect school too early.”  Keep those ego strokes coming.  Flattery will get you everywhere.  I have to say, though, it was a lot of fuss for schools that are only two mornings a week.  I mean, what would I do with the other three mornings and five afternoons?  

I guess I’ll go back next year when the information will actually be a bit more relevant…  And until then, I’ll lay off the pipe.

Leave a Reply

