Baby, It’s Cold Outside

January 14, 2009

I should preface this by saying that I grew up in two places that had much more intense winters than Type-A city…

extremecoldcoat

A cold spell has fallen on Type-A city and the city is losing it.  The newscasters are talking about how dangerous the cold is, people are bundled up like it is -50.  This has always been an aspect of this city that I have found humorous.  The panics when there is the threat of snow- grocery shelves emptied of bread and milk, schools closed, etc.- are hilarious.

So I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised when people started questioning my taking the baby out.  He is, of course, bundled up when we leave the house and I make sure to keep him warm.  It isn’t like I am putting on his sun hat and flip flops and calling him dressed.  So my question is: what do people expect?  Am I supposed to stay home and lose my mind with cabin fever because it is a little nippy out?

Call me a terrible mother if you want but when it comes down to it which is better for the baby- a sane mother or protection from that ever-so-inconvenient cold nose?

Leave a Reply

