Would you like some cheese with that whine?

January 28, 2009

cheese-iditozobel

M has discovered the art of whining.  At first it was kind of funny/cute, this little guy scrunching up his face, staring straight into my eyes, and protesting.  But the cuteness factor quickly disappeared and now, it just hard to take.

I am trying very hard not to respond to every whine so that he learns to get that toy himself or to roll over and go back to sleep but sometimes it is REALLY HARD.  

Not hard in the “I want to soothe your pain” way that letting them cry it out is, but hard in the “DEAR GOD MAKE IT STOP” way.  Is it just me or is your own child’s whine like nails on a chalkboard?  Whining by other little kids has never really bugged me that much but this is seriously hard to take.

At 9 months I know that his needs are different and it isn’t as much asserting independence as it is expressing frustration.  So does that make me cold-hearted if I don’t respond? I don’t think so.  I think it goes back to the hovering versus nurturing concept.

He isn’t going to be permanently damaged if he gets frustrated.  So I try to calmly respond and, if necessary, help him to find a way to solve the frustration rather than just giving him whatever it is he wants.  But sometimes I just want to shove the toy into his hand and say, “Here it is! Stop already!”  Or put a pillow over my head and go to my happy place.

Leave a Reply

