Mad at Dad

February 5, 2009

A friend of mine sent me a link to a recent post in the New York Times parenting blog that talks about how angry moms are at dads about the division of childcare and other household tasks.  

Apparently 46% of moms get “irate” at their husbands at least once a week.  50% say that their husbands get more time to themselves than they do.

 

dailystrength.org

image credit: dailystrength.org

While these numbers are upsetting and need to be improved, as I thought about them I also realized how they show how far we have actually come.

Don’t get me wrong, I have definitely had my share of losing-my-shit moments. I don’t know, maybe I drank too much of the happy cute-baby-cool-aid today, but I think previous generations had it a lot worse.  I mean, I don’t think that these questions would really even have been asked or talked about.  And I think that a lot of moms just didn’t even feel like they had the right to be angry.  So the fact that we can express our frustration and we can say that we deserve more time to ourselves is a huge deal.

Of course there is a long way to go but somedays you just have to look for the small miracles, you know?

Leave a Reply

