Last Piece of Cake

February 10, 2009

bakingbites.com

Image credit: bakingbites.com

 

 

So I have been playing the waiting game with work lately.  Waiting on projects that never seem to materialize.  It is driving me absolutely and completely nuts and is one of those things that I hate about being a consultant- you are always dependent on someone else for something.

It has been especially complicated since I have been trying to organize child care with my MIL in the midst of all of this.  I keep scheduling with her and then having to change plans as the project fails to come in. So frustrating.

I should probably just have her take care of the baby anyway and go off and have some time to myself but it is hard to spend that hard earned child care capital when I don’t need to.  It is kind of like when there is that last piece of really good cake from the weekend and it is sitting there at lunch, calling to you, “Eat me! Eat me!”  But you know that if you eat it now, you will be really sad after dinner when there is no dessert.

Ok. Maybe I need help.

2 Responses to “Last Piece of Cake”

  1. Bubba Says:

    I say just have the MIL take care of the baby anyway and go off and have some time to yourself. God knows the child care capital in this case is endless. Take the child care bailout!

  2. Madeleine's Mama Says:

    Hear, hear! If you have an arrangement with her that you are comfortable with, then you can use the time for whatever you want. Then instead it will be more like looking at a whole table full of desserts (work, nap, exercise, read a book, pedicure, coffee with a friend, grocery shopping alone…the list goes on) and saying “Well, I know I can’t *actually* eat one of everything, but…” A better sort of problem to have, perhaps.


Leave a Reply

