Urge to Radicalize

February 25, 2009

As I struggle through these days of professional wasting (work has been super slow) and have been trying to come to terms, yet again, with the decision I made to slow down my professional life for a while in order to be around more for my kid.  I am still committed to walking the line between the two worlds- working moms and stay-at-home moms- but sometimes I really envy that clarity and even radicalism.

Sometimes I really wish that I was either a hard-core working mom or a super-duper stay-at-home mom, even if it was logistically or financially more difficult.  Sometimes I wish that I was one of those women who was so clear that what I was doing was right that I scoffed at the other side.  Just to have that kind of clarity would be awesome.

In the meantime, though, I’ll keep limping along, trying to navigate the netherworld, hoping that in the end it will pay off and I will have the type of family life and career that I am hoping for.  And I’ll resist the temptation to shave my head, turn vegan, and join a collective of back-to-the-earth moms.  Carob brownie anyone?

Leave a Reply

