Attack of the Killer Doldrums

April 2, 2009

I was up from 4-5:30am last night.  Not because the baby was up.  Not because there was a party next door.  Not because I was sick.  But because I woke up in a panic about what I am doing with my life.  

I am so tired of this anxiety.  I feel like it is time to get over it, move on, and focus on the present.  But I can’t seem to do that.  I keep thinking about this list that someone showed me of all of the great things that were accomplished by people at different ages.  Mozart composing at age 6,  So-and-so completing some crazy athletic feat at age 15, etc., etc.  The one decade on the list that was missing: the 30s.  Apparently, no one accomplishes anything great in this decade (I know, I know having children is a great act, but I’m talking professionally here).  How depressing is that?!

The part of it that is really bugging me these days is that I feel like I can’t ever get to the real professional development because I am always playing catch up on other stuff- emails, phone calls, blogging, emptying the dishwasher, taking a shower, etc.  Am I just really pathetic at multi-tasking?  Do I sleep too much?  How do people do it?

One Response to “Attack of the Killer Doldrums”

  1. Helen Says:

    They don’t. The house is usually a mess, or their email box is hundreds deep. Something has to give if we are to stay sane, interested and interesting.


Leave a Reply

