Irony of Ironies

April 7, 2009

So after all of my bitching and moaning about not getting any consulting gigs over the past couple of months, I finally got a small one.  Very exciting!  Except… it will need to be completed within the six days leading up to M’s first birthday- a time when six family members will be coming into town.

So what have I been doing? Lying in bed late at night anxiously planning how I will get everything done, of course.  In the midst of this angst-ridden planning I re-realized something: this birthday (and birthday party) means a whole lot more to F and me than it does to M.  Will he know if there aren’t decorations everywhere?  Will he care if his present is just thrown in a bag rather than meticulously wrapped?  Will he remember if the invitation is just a slapped together email? Nope. Nope. And Nope.

I have one friend who made hand-made ravioli’s for 18 adults for her daughter’s first birthday.  And another who made hand-made pinwheels.  My fantasy is a beautifully decorated, baked from scratch birthday cake- one made with a recipe from F’s grandmother (which means it is in Portuguese and will need to be translated and, I had hoped, tested out once or twice) and a ridiculously abundant spread of finger foods for the 16 people who will be at our house for the celebration.

Why is it that we succomb to these pressures for perfection even when the person they are supposedly for doesn’t even know what is happening?  I wish I could tell you that I have decided that the way to go is pre-made apps, an ordered cake, and a couple bottles of bubbly…  Ok, maybe I won’t do a trial run with the cake.

One Response to “Irony of Ironies”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I’ve heard that pinwheels are so last year, and tremendously overrated. 🙂 I am sure that whatever you decide to do will be special, meaningful and EXACTLY what is appropriate for the occasion. I think the pre-made apps from Trader Joe’s are fabulous….


Leave a Reply

