Did you hear that?

April 10, 2009

My husband and I finally got around to watching The Wire on DVD.  For those of you who haven’t seen it, it is well worth it- smart, painfully real, and touchingly human.  One of the things that I have noticed most is their use of crying babies as a background noise in various scenes (when people are shooting up drugs, when people are hanging out in the courtyard, etc.).  It is incredibly haunting.

And it got me thinking about how attuned my ears now are to babies crying.  Whether it is the neighbor’s kid, a baby in a supermarket, or my own, every ounce of my body goes into alert mode whenever I hear it.  It is a remarkably powerful evolutionary tool that those tykes have.

I wonder- is this something that decreases over time, as my own child gets older?  Or will it forever be a part of my spidey senses?

Leave a Reply

