You call those cookies?!

May 7, 2009

The lack of momentum on the professional front has definitely getting to me, as has the weather, so when the sun came out yesterday I decided that it was time to change my outlook and focus on what I have in front of me, rather than what I am missing.  

So despite a horribly failed nap in the morning and a rather cranky baby, I was determined to have a good and productive day.  We met up with a friend and her baby for lunch, which was wonderful, and then headed home to try for a more successful afternoon nap.  Once M went down I kicked into high gear- catching up on a bunch of emails, straightening up the house, getting a bunch of summer plans moving, and baking.  I was so proud of my two batches of scones that I decided I had time to make chocolate chip cookies, too.  And that is when things went terribly wrong. Half-way through making the batter the baby woke up and started crying and I tossed everything into the Cuisinart, scooped the batter out quickly onto the cookie sheet in little rounds, and ran up to get M.  When I came down to check on the cookies this is what I found:

img_2149

For a moment I thought, “who are you kidding? You can’t do this stay-at-home mom thing.  You can’t do the career thing. What kind of mom/woman are you?”  And then I realized I was being a self-pitying idiot.  I may not have mastered the multi-tasking thing yet but at least I get points for trying, right?

Leave a Reply

