The Advocacy Dilemma

June 2, 2009

A friend recently read my blog for the first time and emailed to tell me how much she liked it.  She said that she and her husband are starting to think about having kids and she is starting to realize the hard decisions that are ahead of them.  Her comments reminded me of my thinking about these issues before having kids was a real thing.  I always knew I wanted kids but I never really thought about what that would mean to my career or to my marriage.  

I think that this inability to see ahead to the difficult choices that are to come is part of a three-pronged dilemma that we face when it comes to advocating for remedies to the work/life balance issue.  Those of us who are not yet at that stage of life aren’t really able to see how it is going to effect is.  Those of us who are past that stage are more focused on other issues.  And those of us who are in the midst of it are too busy balancing work and life to have time to advocate for changes in organizational and public policies.

So the question then becomes, how do we mobilize the whole feminist base to work on this issue?  How do we make it relevant? How do we make it interesting to those that aren’t directly effected by it?

Leave a Reply

