It’s Raining, It’s Pouring

June 5, 2009

I met up with two friends and their kids today for lunch and it was incredibly reassuring to know that I am not the only one who, in the last 24-48 hours, has wanted to leave my kid out on the front porch.  Hearing everyone expressing the same frustrations made me realize how much more susceptible one’s mood is to weather when there are kids involved.

I love rain. Love it.  I love rainy days curled up on the couch reading. I love sleeping in all cosy under the comforter.  I love watching Pride and Prejudice for the sixty-eighth (the BBC 5-hour version, of course).  I even love being caught in the rain and coming home drenched.  But none of that is fun with an almost toddler, especially one who lives for being outside.  

So at least now I know I’m not alone.  And the next time the rain is like this I will just have to come up with some brilliant crafts activity or baking project… or at least I’ll have to have a bottle of wine to crack open at 3pm.

Leave a Reply

